Upcoming competitions

17 January 2018
Wags Scramble
click here

31 January 2018
Green Tee Competition
click here

Need to withdraw from a Match or Competition
click here

Password required for Members Pages
Get password?
click here

(Open to all Sandy Lodge members)

Withdraw from Competition or Match Obtain password Scramble 17 January 2018 Green Tee competition 31 January
Welcome Who are the Wags? Wags Honours Boards Fixture List 2018 Trophies Competitions Handicaps Results 2017 Results 2016 Results 2015 Members pages Contact Form Visitors Michael Sobell Hospice Books Sandy Lodge Website


The Wags of Sandy Lodge Golf Club
Founded 1969

Return to top of page


The Silver Jubilee Cup
This cup competition was inaugurated in 1994 in celebration of the 25th Anniversary of the founding of the Wags. Played as an individual Stableford using 4 clubs and a putter.

Winner 2017: Colin Gross  -  37 points  

The Harvey Boone Memorial Trophy
The Wags was formed in 1969 and Harvey Boone was one ofthe founder members and was President of the Wags from 1977 to 1981. He was an optician and had a half-day on Wednesdays and played golf with Cyril Thomas and Bertie Brown, their association developing into the Wags as we know it today. Played as an individual Stableford.

Winner 2017: Steve Smithson  -  32 points

The Centenary Claret Jug
This competition was inaugurated in 2010 in celebration of the Centenary of Sandy Lodge Golf Club. It is a charity event and all proceeds go to the Vice-Captain's charity.
A Stableford competition.

Winner 2017: Roy Davis -  37 points

The Bill Imber Trophy  
This trophy is in memory of Bill, a member of the Wags for many years, who died in 2002. Bill is remembered as a courteous, peaceable, fun-loving Wag, a true gentleman. The significance of the trophy is that Bill had a very individual putting style. Played as an individual Stableford.

Winner 2017: John Seymour -  33 points

The Lawrie Clarkson Cup
This cup was presented in 2001 by Lawrie Clarkson and the competition is played as an individual medal, "the way golf should be played" Lawrie said. Assisting our Scribe for many years, Lawrie took an active interest in the Wags until his death death in 2013, aged 101.   

Winner 2017: Kaz Kassam   net 64  

The Cyril Thomas Memorial Trophy
This handsome trophy was presented in 1981 in memory of Cyril Thomas, a founder member of the Wags. Foursomes Stableford.

Winners 2017: Colin Gross & Steve Smithson -  34 points

The Bertie Brown Memorial Cups
Bertie Brown was a founder member of the Wags and was very fond of Fensomes. The cups were presented in 1976 in his memory.
A fensomes competition, played in pairs.

Winners 2017: Garry Glover & Lloyd Groves   38 points

The President’s Tankard
This competition was inaugurated in 1997 and the tankard presented to the Wags by the then President, George Barton. Played as an individual Stableford.

Winner 2017: Garry Glover   39 points

The Wags Eclectic Trophy  
This fine trophy, presented in 2015 by Peter Tanner, is an interesting addition to our competitions and is played over 3 of our six individual competitions during the year.

Winner 2017: Kaz Kassam  -  net 63.8

The Donald Brown Salver
Donald's widow presented this fine salver in 1989 in memory of her husband. The competition is played over 11 holes as a Stableford. It is an opportunity to enter a competition for those of our members who are no longer able to play 18 holes.

Winner 2017: Geoff Worsfold - 25 points

The Wags Putter
The competition for the Wags Putter was started in 2015 when the Cann & Taylor antique putter was donated by a Wag and mounted by a local craftsman. The competition is played over 18 holes without handicaps and was originally played on the same date as the 11 – hole Donald Brown Salver.

Winner 2017: Ivor Joseph  -  36

The John Crump Trophy
This trophy was presented in memory of John Crump by his daughter. John was a long-standing and much respected member of the Wags. He died in 2004, just before his 91st birthday and was playing golf on a regular basis until one month before his death. John will be remembered for many years to come, particularly as the Summer Knockout competition is now played for this trophy.

Winner 2017: Dave Brampton

The George Maplesden Picture   
This watercolour, belonging to George, was presented to the Wags in 2008 by his daughter. George was a member of the Wags for many years and was a true gentleman in word and deed. The three winners of the Christmas 11-hole Scramble share this prize for one year.

Winners 2017: Mike Holden, David Morgan, Godfrey Van Geyzel -  net 33

Wags Trophies    
For all previous winners go to our Honours Board page - click here

Wags Honours Boards

All are welcome to play in trophy competitions but only those who have played on 6 non-trophy competition days in the previous 12 months are entitled to win a trophy. New Wags are required to play with the Wags 6 times before being entitled to win.

The Captain's Prize
The winner of this competition receives a prize  provided by the Wags Captain, and is a Stableford competition

Winner 2017: David Brampton  -  38 points

The Famous Grouse Trophy
This trophy was donated by the Famous Grouse Company in 1989 and the winner of the Stableford competition bearing its name was traditionally given a bottle of their whisky. This competition was dropped in 2001, and in 2015 it was decided to play for this trophy in our new Par 3 Competition.

Winner 2017: Peter Creer  -  38 points